Enough!

To start, I’ve been sick most of the week. Like “stay at home” sick, not just “I don’t feel good” sick, so my patience is reasonably limited. I am taking this in to account.

I am about read to hit someone today. It has been one steady parade of stupid questions, general ignorance and bad manners from the word go. Frankly, I just don’t have the energy for it.

The entire class of ENGG students showed up at once. None of whom knew ANYTHING about what they needed or where to find it. If you’ve never had to deal with engineering students (especially in large groups) count yourself lucky.

“I’m looking for some books.”

uh huh.

“They’re supposed to be set aside.”

On reserve?

“Yeah.”

Which class?

“Uhhhh… engineering.”

There’s a few things on reserve, which did you need?

“I don’t know.”

Good.

“I should go look it up.”

Yes.

Two minutes later, he’s back.

“I need *** and *** and ***.”

Those items aren’t on reserve.

“But they’re supposed to be on a separate cart.”

No, they aren’t. These are the reserve items, those are not part of them. They are not on reserve. You’ll need to find the call number and go look for them upstairs. They aren’t back here.

“Oh. Okay.”

He leaves. And comes back. Two minutes later. This time with the names written down.

“I need these.”

These aren’t on reserve. They’re on the shelves upstairs. You need to find the call number and go look for them yourself.

“Oh… where do I find the call number?”

::Facepalm:: Online, when you look up the names of the book. Under that it will say “call number”.

Would you believe I actually shortened this conversation for your sake? This was the worst of the lot but I had roughly the same conversation with the rest of the class as they filed up to the desk, one by one.

It’s been one of those days.

One of those days where I’d like a stiff drink and something to hit these people with.

-Late Fines.

Published in: on September 24, 2010 at 7:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latefines.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/enough/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

