You might be mistaken

“I looked on the floor but there are no books with a four digit all number.”

I look at the piece of paper she’s pushing at me. HM 1116.

“It stops after the three digit numbers.”

Okay first, that is bullshit. Second, this is after the same patron came to the desk earlier and asked me to go find the books for her because “she doesn’t know how” (also bullshit and, I might add, not my problem).

HM section does, for the record, go past four digit call numbers. ALL of the sections go past four digit call numbers. You are so full of shit, which wouldn’t even be half so annoying if you weren’t standing here lying to me, being lazy and expecting me to go do your work for you.

Oh, I get it. You thought that you were smarter than me, right? You thought I wouldn’t figure it out, is that it? It’s okay, I’ve only been working in libraries for almost a decade. Someday maybe I’ll work out the system enough to thwart your evil plans. But not today. Because I must be that dumb.

Here’s a heads up, sweetie – THIS IS UNIVERSITY. You are an adult now. No one gives a shit if you succeed or fail, because you are now responsible for yourself.

Now get the hell away from my counter and stop wasting my time.

-Late Fines

Published in: on August 28, 2010 at 11:48 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latefines.wordpress.com/2010/08/28/you-might-be-mistaken/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. But you OWE them! They’re special! They’re ENTITLED to be lazy miscreants because … because … because they are!
    I despise lazy.

    • I spend most of my working days dealing with these people. It’s exhausting.

  2. Now that one cracked me up so hard I almost spit coffee out my nose.

    • You’re welcome.


Leave a Reply

