Temper Tantrums: not just for the students any more

If it hasn’t been made clear yet, I get yelled at a lot. I don’t know what it is about libraries that make people so edgy but they tend to lose it when they’re here. Someone really aught to do a study. For the most part, it’s students. To be specific, students who are stressed for any number of reasons.(At the public library it was, well, just about anyone who walked through the door. I still contend that there should be inch thick plexiglass between patrons and the staff – like at the movie theatre.)

I understand that. I was a student once upon a time too. I, however, never yelled at a library asssistant. Maybe I’m just weird.

What really catches me off guard is when a faculty member does it. These are not people who should be freaking out and yelling at anyone. Yet somehow they seem to forget that we are not servants or peons, but coworkers. Degree and pay band aside, we are employed by the same institution and watched over by a union that doesn’t like its members fighting with each other.

The phone rang the other day and since everyone else was occupied, I answered.

“I’m looking for three movies.”

Ever have the feeling that things are about to go badly?

Do you have the call numbers?” To be fair, I ask everyone. I’m supposed to. It’s my job. Go figure.

“No. They’re called…” SCREEEEACH! BANG!

Oh, did I mention they were doing some construction in the library that week?

“I’m sorry, I didn’t quite catch that.”

*sigh* “They’re called *mumblemumblemumble*”

Wonderful… “I’m sorry, could you say that once more a little more slowly, please?”

“Aren’t you listening to me!? Look, I need these videos for a class! I know you have them there!”

“I’m sorry ma’am, I didn’t catch the title of the item you’re looking for.”

This time she practically spelled it out for me after deciding that I am some kind of mental defective. I managed to find two, the third isn’t even in the system. I tell her.

“They both should be on the shelves if you’d like to come and get them.”

“I need them for a class.”

That could mean any number of things. “So you’d like them put on reserve?”

“No! I need them for a class! I want to come pick them up at the desk.”

Remember this guy?

Yeah.

“So you’d like them put on hold?”

“Yes. I will pick them up tomorrow.”

“If I put a hold on them there isn’t a guarantee that the items will be down on the hold shelf by tomorrow.”

“What do you mean!? I need them for a class!” Yeah, I picked up on that part.

“Well someone would have to go and retreive the materials and I can’t guarantee anyone will be available to do that tonight. The materials may also be taken out by any other patron who needs them.”

“Well just go and get them! I’m in meetings all day! I can’t come down. I need them for a class!”

“I’m afraid I can’t leave the desk to collects holds, ma’am.”

What is the matter with you!? You make it sound like you’re doing me a personal favour!”

Yes, that’s exactly what it would be.

“I want your name!”

I give it to her. She tells me again she’d be in the next day for the DVDs, despite my explaining that they wouldn’t be here, at which point she hung up on me.

I spent the better part of my afternoon explaining what happened to my supervisor to keep from hearing about it when she complained.

Some days, it’s not even worth getting out of bed.

-Late Fines.

Published in: on February 9, 2010 at 6:48 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://latefines.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/tempertantrum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. People are special.

    • In that “you should be required to have constant supervision” kind of way, yes.

  2. people are fucked up.

    seriously

    I’m not sure hoe you deal with this crap and stay sane

    • Who said I’m sane!?

  3. Oh, but life would be so uninteresting if everyone were normal. Alcohol was made for a reason.

    • Honestly, some days I’d rather have an uninteresting day.

  4. I’m sure this doesnt help, but you make me want to produce a library-based sitcom.

    • I’ve often thought of doing the same thing. If you ever give it a go, I better get a freakin’ phone call for some work.


Leave a Reply

